top of page
  • Writer's pictureBusola Coutts, Founder

Top Summer Trends Toronto Women Can't Get Enough Of

Updated: Jul 26, 2018



As the search for summer trends begins, I decided to speak with some Toronto women I saw in the shopping mall to get an idea of what their favorite summer go-to pieces or looks were.


Even on a beautiful Tuesday afternoon, the mall was packed with shoppers and folks craving some mall food. I took the opportunity to chat with some women unbeknownst to me were with their moms. "I am so sorry to bother you but may I ask you a question, please?" I coyly asked them. First, they cautiously agree, giving me a sneaky side-eye but as soon as I asked them the question, "What is your summer must-have outfit…you know, that summer go-to outfit?" They instantly relax and start to share. I could see their eyes light up almost as if saying, "Phew, thought she was about to ask me for money. "Hahaha, I thought it was nice to see the relief on their faces. While a couple of the women I spoke with were with friends, those with their moms definitely made it all more interesting.

Based on how many times the same outfit was mentioned by all the different women I talked to, I was able to develop the list below starting with the most popular.

1. Summer Dress with Sneakers

This is a trend that is here to stay. The sporty chic look has been mastered by the world of fashion and given rise to comfortable fashion culture. While there are many ways to do the sporty look and do it right, there is only one way to wear a dress with sneakers and that is, "Easy-peasy quick and chic". It is no surprise most of the women I spoke with separately by the way, find this look to be their summer must-have outfit.














Dolce & Gabbana floral summer dress

Joshua Sanders floral bow slip-on sneakers











2. Maxi Dress with Flip-flops and a Hat

A maxi dress is the mecca of dresses. Most women will go for a maxi dress even after they think they have more than enough in their closets. I do it all the time. It is the comfort of an easy yet graceful look too elegant to pass up. Some of the women I spoke with who preferred a short dress also mentioned they would definitely wear maxis as well. Now because it is summer we are talking about, I wasn't surprised at the mention of styling it with a hat and a pair of flip flops.

Boohoo Daisy Lace Insert Maxi Dress

Joyfolie Mandy Flip Flops Thong Sandal










Etsy Personalized Sun Hat Floppy Beach Hat








3. T-Shirt with Shorts

This is easily a summer classic and a must-have for many and it sure never gets old. From low-rise to high-waisted, shorts with a T-shirt can be worn with just about any type of shoes.






***THIS IS NOT SPONSORED ***Full Disclosure: While this is definitely not a sponsored post, I am an affiliate member of Shopstyle Collective, an online shopping site listing products for many different brands. So when you click on any of the shopstyle links above or purchase products through those shopstyle links, I earn commissions on them. This is for those who may be interested in buying the products or similar products featured in my video.










bottom of page